Glasgow international 2018

20 April—
7 May


Programme Announcement for Glasgow International 2016

Glasgow International: 8th – 25th April 2016
Preview: 7th April 2016

With just under seven months to go, we are pleased to announce the programme of the 7th edition of Glasgow International.

The festival returns with more exhibitions and events than ever, showing works by Glasgow-based artists in renowned museum and gallery spaces, off-site spaces, and other cultural organisations.

As well as showcasing a wealth of Glasgow-based artists across the city, this year the Director’s curated programme will respond directly to Glasgow and its status as a post-industrial city. This strand will take a look at the city’s industrial legacy, and the present relationship many artists have with acts of production, manufacture, artisanship, craft and industry.

With over 200 artists included in 36 solo and 40 group shows in venues across the city we are excited to announce the following artist participation:

Director’s Programme:
Claire Barclay, Tamara Henderson, Helen Johnson (with Mary Mary), Cosima von Bonin, Aaron Angell, Tessa Lynch, Lawrence Lek, Sheila Hicks, Alexandra Bircken, Mika Rottenberg, Amie Siegel, (Tramway exhibition co-designed by Martin Boyce).


Highlights from the wider programme:
Monika Sosnowska (Modern Institute); Simon Starling (The Common Guild); Sol Calero (David Dale Gallery); Alisa Barenboym and Liz Magor (Glasgow Sculpture Studios); Leila Hekmat (Koppe Astner); Stewart Home (QPRC); Don Levy (SWG3); Serena Korda (Glasgow School of Art); Karolina Bregula (Market Gallery); Andy Holden (WASPS); Toby Christian and Duncan Marquiss (16 Nicholson Street); Maria Hlavajova (Transmission); Emily Mae Smith (Mary Mary).

Exciting solo and collaborative presentations by Mega Hammer (Presented by Marvin Gaye Chetwynd and Jedrzej Cichosz); a Matthew Higgs curated show of Derrick Alexis Coard (Project Ability); The Old Hairdresser’s; Asparagus Piss RaindropBaldvin Ringstead (Hidden Noise); Henry Coombes; Carol Rhodes; Rallou Panagiotou; George Ziffo & Jacob Kerray; Erica Eyres & Garnet McCulloch; Laura Yuile, DKUK & Leslie Kulesh; Katy West, Corin Sworn & Alex Farmer.

Georgia Horgan is the winner of the Open Glasgow Bursary Award, presented to an emerging artist living and working in Glasgow.

Glasgow International 2016 is programmed by Director, Sarah McCrory.

To find out more and to start planning your trip, please visit

We look forward to seeing you in April!


← Back

Professional registration

If you are interested in pre-registering as a professional for Glasgow International 2016 information on eligibility and how to register can be found here.

Press & Media

For media requests please contact: Emma Morgan, Sutton PR, T: (0) 20 7183 3577

Back to 2018

Glasgow international 2018