Scotland’s biennial festival of contemporary visual art – returning in 2021

Glasgow International is the largest festival for contemporary visual art in Scotland, with over 60 admission free exhibitions, performances and events taking place over 18 days across Glasgow.

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic the 2020 festival was postponed to 2021. Originally scheduled from 23 April – 10 May the festival will be re-staged in 2021 with dates to be announced. To view details of the exhibitions that were due to be presented during GI2020 see the list of participating artists below or browse a pdf of the planned programme guide here.

Exhibitions Events & Performances


The theme for the 9th edition of Glasgow International is attention, something that has taken on new resonances since the Coronavirus outbreak and pandemic. As much a method or approach as a theme, Attention asks us to consider how, where and in whom our attention is placed at a time of seemingly constant distraction through, for instance, social media and 24 hour news feeds. What are the opportunities for close looking both in the making and viewing of art, and how we attend to others whom we care for, as well as ourselves? The festival is a special moment, a crescendo in the creative rhythm of the city, a concentrated instance that opens up a space for relearning and recovering the stretches of time before, during and beyond it. Attention seeks to step outside the everyday and open up a new space for looking, thinking and spending time with the work of artists and to see afresh the intent behind the work.
Director's Programme Across the city

Adam Christensen

Addie Wagenknecht

Adelita Husni-Bey

Adrien Hester

Ag Anara

Aideen Doran

Alan Warburton

Alberta Whittle

Alex Sarkisian

Alistair Dearie

Aman Sandhu

Ana Beatriz Almeida

Andrew Black

Andrew Sim

Annie Crabtree

Arjuna Neuman

Ashanti Harris

Awuor Onyango

Ben Toms

Benaissa Majeri

Beth Dynowski

Camara Taylor

Catalina Barroso-Luque

Céline Amendola

Charlie Hammond

Christian Noelle Charles

D. Graham Burnett

Dan Walwin

Daniella Valz Gen

David Sherry

Davinder Singh

Dawn Mellor

Debbie Young

Denise Ferreira da Silva

Donald Rodney

Douglas Coupland

Dylan Moore

Elizabeth Murphy

Emmie McLuskey

Erika Silverman

ESTAR(SER) collective

Eva Rothschild

Flint McDonald

Francis McKee

Fumihiko Sumitomo

Furmaan Ahmed

G.O.D.S (Letitia Pleiades & Ashanti Harris)

Gabecare (Tessa Lynch & Rachel Adams)

Garnet Hertz

Gordon Douglas

Graham Fagen

Harriet Rose Morley

Hayley Tompkins

Hermione Spriggs

Holly Muir

Huhtamaki Wab


Ilana Halperin

Ima-Abasi Okon

Iman Tajik

Ingrid Pollard

Isobel Neviazsky

Jack Brennan

Jacqueline Donachie

Jasleen Kaur

Jeanne Tullen

Jimmy Robert

Joanna Fiduccia

Judith Leupi

Judith Scott

Kader Attia

Kameelah Janan Rasheed

Kate Davis

Kateřina Konarovská

Katherine MacBride

Katie Shannon

Katie Watchorn

Laura Aldridge

Leanne Ross

Leontios Toumpouris

Leslie Thompson

Liv Fontaine

Lizzie Watts

Lorna Macintyre

Lotte Gertz

Luke Fowler

Margaret Salmon

Mason Leaver-Yap

Mathew Parkin

Méabh Breathnach

Melvin Edwards

Michael Mandiberg

Mimei Thompson

Minty Donald

Mmakgabo Helen Sebidi

Nastja Säde Rönkkö

Nastya Nikolskaya

Ndidi Dike

Neil McGuire

Nic Green

Nick Millar

Nils McDiarmid

Nora Turato

Patricia Panther

Paul Kindersley

Péju Alatise

Rabiya Choudhry

Rae-Yen Song

Raisa Kabir

Ratty Byebye

Raymond Strachan

Robin Wise

Ruthie Kennedy

SAGG Napoli

Seher Shah

Sekai Machache

Sgàire Wood

Shai Andrade

Sharon Hayes

Sorcha Clelland

Soufiane Ababri

Stephen Polatch

Stewart Laing

Suds McKenna

Sulaïman Majali

susan pui san lok

Susannah Stark

Tara Marshall-Tierney

Thulani Rachia

Urara Tsuchiya

Wassili Widmer

William Joys

Winnie Herbstein

Yuko Hasegawa

Zephyr Liddell

Zoe Walker and Neil Bromwich